Critics Corner

Submit a Review!

Write a review about something you've discovered on Frontline Records Rewind show, remind the world about that amazing album you’ve been treasuring for years, or let the community know how much your favorite Frontline artist has inspired you. You’ve been listening to us since 1986 and now we want to hear from you.

More Info

Great podcast !
Frontline records is part of the soundtrack of my life and these artists are the A & B sides. Ken Tamplin is a Guitar Hero in any Genre!

David McLeod
September 2017

Wow, what a wonderful nostalgia trip. These are the artists of my youth, and the nostalgia would be enough, but the discussions on the show are immensely interesting, and the generous helping of the music that is played just makes me smile all day long. If you're a fan of Frontline Records, this is required listening! Thanks guys!

Jeff McGee
September 2017

I still have all my music from Frontline. It's awesome remembering back to all that great music. Love this podcast and cool to see what people are up to now.

Shane Lunsford
September 2017

These guys know how to talk about music. Great insights beyond the surface. 10/10. I have learned so much about my favorite Frontline artists. What a blessing guys.

Jon Gamble
September 2017

I've been a Grand Funk Railroad and Mark Farner fan since the late Seventies. Mark Farner's albums for Frontline Records have been very influential for me in a very positive way. While I like all the albums he made for Frontline, Wake Up... is my personal favorite. I like the Christian message ("Role Model" is a song I'm glad he wrote) and the album rocks like any of my favorite Grand Funk, Flint, or Mark Farner albums. I hope that Mark's Frontline catalog is reissued on CD. It would also be great if he made some more Christian rock albums.

Peter Egley Jr.
September 2017

I wanted to say thanks to Adel and everyone involved at Frontline for your contribution to Christian music and for resurrecting many of the titles that made Frontline the pinnacle of Christian rock, metal, alternative, and rap. I grew up in the 80s and have many memories going to my local Christian bookstore to listen to the latest releases. I could reminisce all night. I've enjoyed most of the Frontline Rewind episodes and look forward to many more. Thank you for keeping great music alive.

Steve H.
August 2017

Sacred Warrior is the crème de la crème of Christian metal. There might be bands that rival SW but none that surpass their musicianship and lyrics. Like many, I heard Rebellion when it was released and was floored. I wore that cassette out! I loved the first 4 songs and the title track. Their sophomore release, Master's Command, was not great, IMO. There were a couple of decent tracks like Beyond The Mountain and Holy, Holy, Holy but I just didn't care for the album as a whole. It remains the least played (by far) of the SW catalog. The 3rd release, Wicked Generation, was good. No Happy Endings, Little Secrets, the title track, and War Torn Hero were my favorites from that album. I believe they returned to their true form with Wicked Generation. And then there was...Obsessions, a blistering barrage of metal. Obsessions blew me away and remains as my favorite SW album. I think Sacred Warrior found their perfect sound with the Obsessions release. The production was awesome, unlike Master's Command. Overall, Sacred Warrior's discography is incredible and is a staple in my music rotation.

Steve Howell
July 2017

I remember when Frontline Records was the record company for metal, rap, and indie type grunge Christian Artists. DeGarmo & Key, DC TALK, PID, and many many more. I grew up listening to the artists from Frontline and am introducing it to my kids. For the PID interview, my 1yr old was dancing and made me playing 3x. Keep blessing the world with great Christian Music.

Nathan Smith
February 2017

P.I.D. "The Chosen Ones"
Quite possibly the most perfect Rap album ever released! (Christian or Secular) With uncompromising lyrics & massive beats songs like Get Under The Bloodstream, Authority, and Grace just to name a few are so catchy it's nearly impossible not to be drawn into this gritty groove-tastic world these Preacha's have crafted. Music that speaks to the body, mind, and soul. The Chosen Ones is a classic landmark album that should be in everyone's music collection!

James Feliciano
February 2017

Their first album is so good that my 9 year old son would put it in a mini-boom box so he and his friends could play basketball to it. "I know you're gonna dig this!"

Doug Z
February 2017

I've been a believer since '89 and being a devout Metalhead I've listen to and have many cassettes vinyls and CDs from fronline records. ROCK ON METALHEADS m/ !!

Sean Squire
February 2017

Had 'Here We Are' and 'Back to Back'. Loved their message and their beats. 'Get You A Bible', 'Don't Bow,' and 'Let Me See Your Fruit' were my favorite tracks off the first album. 'Bible Stories' and 'B Movement' were my favorites off the second. These were available to me in my Junior and Senior years in high school and really helped minister to me and help me minister to my friends. One friend, who was no longer a believer at the time, and I would blast this in my car when I would give him a ride home from basketball practice. He credits me and my music with leading him to Christ. He is now a professor at Fuller Theological Seminary. Thank you for your music and your message.

Rob Gibson
February 2017

I love Idle Cure and their music. You guys Rock!!! We want a REUNION the world wants a REUNION.

Damon
January 2017

My first Christian bands I listened when I got save by Christ love ... In 1990 now it's 2016 and I still listen to them all 5 CDs .... My best cd is Inside out ....... My best song is Fronline ....love it .....
Thank you Be Blessed

Adrian cole
December 2016

BLUES FOR THE CHILD
An odd mixture, about half very bluesy/jazzy and the other half very Celtic. I enjoy both styles, in general, but find the combination of both on one CD a little jarring. Not crazy about SILENT NIGHT done like a sexy nightclub act... too incongruous! And Chris Lazotte is rather out of tune on STILL STILL STILL. Other than that, I love the other arrangements and performances, especially the Celtic-oriented ones. CHRISTMAS SONG as a guitar solo by Lanny Cordola is a standout.

Stephanie
December 2016

Still Letting The Son Shine In:
Listening to Les Carlson speak leaves nothing to the imagination. With one of the most distinctive voices in music, his interview leads us on a journey down memory lane as he describes where he got his start in theatrical representation. Circa 1970, the Broadway hit Hair were searching for performers. Les being in his early 20's, waited in line for hours to get a chance to shine. Armed with his confidence and passion for the stage, he became an understudy. When the director expressed his disappointment with Les for not being more prepared, Les describes that moment as a blessing. Showing more determination than ever, Les was finally cast as the lead in Hair for close to two years. Listeners will enjoy the medley of "Flesh Failure/Let the sun shine in" by the band Joshua in which Les was a member of after leaving Broadway. He states that songs like these were the "foundational approach for Bloodgood".
After a fellow musician's positive attitude opened Les' eyes to following the Lord, he was given the book "More Than a Carpenter" which reaffirmed what Les was feeling inside himself. After the band Joshua was disolved, Les found himself doing roofing construction rather than belting out vocal harmonies. The pastor of his church, knowing the talent that Les possessed, spoke to him and urged him to use what God had given him. Not soon after, he responded to an Ad looking for a singer. So began the movement that became Bloodgood. Les Carlson's creativity continues to flow. Listeners will be excited to hear the new collaboration with Don Cromwell, known as Carlson/Cromwell with a song called "Fired Up Tonight". Les also is currently starring in the play "St. John in Exhile". Upon the closing of the interview, there is an amazing excerpt of the monologue he performs. This play plans to tour throughout 2017.
If this upcoming performance is anything like Bloodgood's onstage performances such as "Crucify", which this writer still remembers, one can only agree that the sun is still shining on this incredibly talented musician.

Ken Davis
November 2016

Back in the day this album really inspired me and gave me confidence and courage to walk in the Lord's Journey that he has placed in my heart I'm sorry to hear about the loss of Less son, I will continue to pray for healing with this loss to the family I love that album and even the new stuff they came out with has been very awesome.

Anthony Galli
November 2016

This was perhaps the coolest time-traveling that the Frontline interviews have ever featured. What could be better than interviewing the interviewer? So many surprises. Never knew that Les acted the part of Claude in the Seattle Hair production. Awesome to hear cuts from the Joshua album. So inspired to hear about the conversion details; there are some features here that will be stolen for sharing to others. Super props to Don Cromwell. I remember being at your house a couple of years ago and having you talk about trying to secure the rights to portray “St. John the Divine” and figure out how to memorize all the dialogue—glad you ingested it all for our benefit!

Bob Wallin, aka Scattered Reign
November 2016

Good solid record! Vocals very strong, (always have been!) Great message about life and the giver of life!
I came in as a fan later though, but went back and listened to all of your stuff, and loved it! ;-)

Bryan Carman
November 2016

I personally first saw Bloodgood on their detonation tour in Indianapolis as a 17 year old. I loved the first two albums, but to see Les live!! Wow! An amazing performer in every respect! Been a HUGE fan ever since. I can honestly say that God used Les Carlson and Bloodgood to help direct me into ministry. I became a youth minister while in Bible College in 1990. I thank God for directing Les' life to influence someone like me to serve Him! Amen!

nathan
November 2016

Les has had quite the career. On the surface, it doesn't seem connected. But there is a throughline in all of his work; using theartical performance as a tool to speak to the things closest to his heart. Awesome stories.

Colin Shearn
November 2016

I've enjoyed the music of Idle Cure for quite some time. In my mind they were a band ahead of their time. I love the fact that their music was strong lyrically, sharing the gospel of Jesus Christ. It was great seeing the rewind interviews with Idle Cure to hear how some of the songs came about and stories from the band. Now if we could just get a new album from Idle Cure!

Mark Hunter
October 2016

Music was always high quality and loved all the music you guys put out. Such appreciation for the original album and how it ministered to me over the years.

Chris Munro
October 2016

Just watched my first "rewind" with Idle Cure. So good to hear the stories behind the songs as well as the band. I loved Idle Cure while they were touring, but never got to see them. So much I didn't know about the guys, their faith and their inspiration. Frontline has gotten the interview right! Great format, great content!

Michael Compton
October 2016

Absolutely amazing!! I can't get enough of Idle Cure's music! I listened to them even as a baby, my mom would put on their songs and it would literally rock me to sleep, and 30 years later, I still rock out to Idle Cure and share their music! Pure, awesome, classic, and just great music!! THANK YOU IDLE CURE FOR YOUR AMAZING TUNES!!!

Heather Nicholson
October 2016

Great band. I am big fan. I have everyone of their albums. Great message in their music. Would love to see them in concert one day.

Roy J Ward Jr
October 2016

I believe the album shows good guitar work along with great songwriting. I particularly enjoy the tight rhythm section as well. I really enjoyed listening to it.

Eric Davidson
October 2016

Break away! They rock and give fond memories of the early days when Christian music could resonate in the hearts of youthful ears. I think this is missing today. If you don't like worship music, you must listen to secular rock. Thanks for using your time and talents.

Todd carroll
October 2016

A couple of things that really stand out is the grittyness and sheer determination to really push the message out into the people.

Idle Cure's music & lyrical ability of the band will be forever remembered by me and anyone else who has had the honor of hearing there music, the sound would literally slice through to your soul.

Thank you Idle Cure for your music your guidance and the memories of a wonderful and highly talented Christain Band....we solute you!.

Mark Crabtree
October 2016

Frontline Records... some of the best records and artist of the 80s and 90s Christian Rock era! Love going back and revisiting these artists to see and hear their influence and see where and what they are doing now. Good times!

Jeremy Goss
October 2016

Frontline Rewind has done it again! The Idle Cure interview was great for people like me who are familiar with the band, and a great introduction to anyone who isn't. The music is, of course, terrific, and it's always fun hearing from the artists behind the tunes. I was glad to hear how the guys are doing today, and it was a great reminder of just how good the music is. Keep up the great work!

Jeff McGee
October 2016

Wow! I was really blessed by the Frontline Rewind episodes with Idle Cure. I had heard Breakaway before but I didn't know the name of the band until that interview. I really enjoyed the music and the love of Jesus shared in the music and the testimonies. Especially the story about the neon Jesus Saves sign and the angel story really stood out for me.And the statement "bread being broken to feed more people" that is just a really cool way of looking at that situation. Thank you so much!!!

jason hutchens
October 2016

I've always loved Frontline record's. Good music. Positive message. Keeping it real. I Love all the music that i have heard so far. I remember SHOUT. Good good stuff.

Leon Price
October 2016

When you get the guys who wrote those iconic songs that are etched in your mind...going back to the very roots of the song, explaining how and why they came to be....that's a podcast worth listening to...So, to quote the band ''Bring it on, we're ready, you know what to do, fighting on the FRONTLIIIIIINE"
#FrontlineRecordsRewiiiiiiiiiiind

DC
October 2016

Tough Love is the second release by Idle Cure. From the first track to the last song the listener is showered with soaring vocals, edgy guitars, and well crafted song writing. Just believe it has an incredible live feeling that immediately places the listener in the front row of a concert. It also expresses the heart of this band. The next song that left an impression with me was So many faces. This song has the listener focus on others as it pulls at our hearts to fulfill the great commission that Jesus gave us. One for the money addresses the addiction of gambling. Great aggressive tune. Runnin brings back the live feel that kicked off this album. To wrap things up the sophomore 's from Idle cure delivers live high energy as well as moving power ballads. It is a sure must have for any Christian's collection and is still alive and well after so many years later.

Brian Shertzer
October 2016

Idle Cure is the best band ever! They were so overlooked! Need more music! I feel so blessed to have all of you CDs. God bless my brothers in Christ!

Michael Decher
October 2016

When I first picked up the Idle Cure album Tough Love from my local Christian book store, I had no idea how awesome it was. We didn't have many stations in our area that played Christian music. This album was to fill a void that at least for me was missing in Christian music of the time. From start to finish, this album rocks... strong rifts melodious harmonies. Equally strong biblically, the message of a world in need of Christ and his love prevails in all of these selections. There is not a weak song in this collection. The only real question is, why are they not still putting out there own brand of hard rocking, smooth ballads, and touching music, to minister to us . Thanks for what you gave us..... here's hoping you find your way back into a studio.

Richard Beacham
October 2016

As a music fan (and a former radio dj and former recording studio engineer), this is the first musician/group podcast I've listened too. From a podcast perspective, I would say great job guys. It was enjoyable, interesting, informative and a good listen.

As for Idle Cure...this album came out in my formative musical years. I was moving out of Keith Green and Lionel Richie to The Clash, The Cure and The Ramones. Idle Cure, and many of the other Frontline artists kept me in Christian music during that time. These artists have stayed in my cassette and CD collections and are finding their way in to my digital collections. Musically they are as strong today as they where then. Of course they have their 80's ethos (keys and sax solos!! Gotta love it), but the musicianship is top notch, and the production value is far above what you would have expected for the time.
Thank you for making the effort to keep this era of music alive as it is much needed in the CCM world.

Justin T. Clausen
October 2016

We put the album in the hands of a non believer in the dorm. "Listen to this and write a review for your music column for the college newspaper."

He was amazed at Frontline and it planted seeds that later changed Mike's life...

Dennis Lauver
October 2016

Idle Cure is pure 80s rock with a message. In a modern day and age where the music seems flat and uninspired to my ears, IC is a fresh sound amongst the many classic CCM artists I've discovered since I turned 19 last year. The past year has been a glorious year of musical discovery for me. And I'm proud to have Idle Cure as a favorite of mine. They truly "breakaway" from the ordinary to give listeners an extraordinary classic rock experience that is as true to the gospel as it is to its authentic sound.

Kimberly G. Bowman
October 2016

Many have come to see the light
Many just walk away

Idle Cure you helped change my life. Idle Cure (self-titled) is still my favourite album. Thanks, Idle Cure, for helping me find Jesus.

Michael
October 2016

Love Idol Cure, reminds me of growing up and roller skating to it at our local rink on Christian Music night! I also love my records and would love add this to my collection.

Laurie Friehlingsdorf
October 2016

I have liked Idle Cure since 1990 and I have all of their 5 studio albums on CD and have many of their songs on my cell phone that I listen to on Bluetooth in my car. Their last couple of albums gets heavier for the most part which is what I like. Their music reminds me of Bon Jovi, Journey and KISS. A great band with a great message. I really enjoyed the 2 interviews at http://frontlinerecords.us/rewind. I would love for the guys to release another album or at least release a few songs to be available through venues like iTunes. I really think they have a few songs in them yet.

For some of you of you who missed out on this band back in the 80' and 90's, you are in for a real treat. Their first 4 albums and their 2 part interview can be found at http://frontlinerecords.us/rewind.

Michael Crewe
October 2016

Most Awesome Band... love 2nd Avenue and Tough Love + all the others. Got all their albums always play them when I turn someone on to Christian music. This band's in the top 10. Keep rockin' for the Lord!

Scott Stuhlmacher
October 2016

Idle Cure's music takes me back to when I first became a Christian and was changing my musical listening habits to listen to all Christian music. I first heard the song 'Pray' on a Christian rock radio show at Taylor University in Indiana. I was new to the genre of Christian rock, so I soaked it all up like a sponge. I even have a copy of the radio show on tape to this day. Needless to say, I enjoyed what I heard from Idle Cure that day, and whenever I listened to the tape. I began to seek out their music, and when a friend was getting rid of all of his cassette tapes for CD's of Christian music, he gave me a copy off all of their albums, including 'Breakaways'. I remember that had a song with a mix of all their hit songs, which was something that was unique to the album, along with a number of their other complete songs. I enjoyed all of their music from the tapes I had, and began to buy all of their studio albums on CD as I moved into the digital age myself. I still have copies of all the originals, and use them to listen to their music often. Straight ahead arena rock with good production. The albums they have released are 'Idle Cure' in 1986, 'Tough Love' in 1988, 2nd Avenue in 1990, and 'Inside Out' in 1991. Also had a release in 1994 called 'Eclipse' that featured the stellar drumming of Jon Knox of Whiteheart and Adam Again renown. The debut album was produced by Bill Baumgart, who I believe traded his production talents for some or all of the guys in Idle Cure building him a production studio in which they recorded the album. Awesome! And it sounds great! That album, and all their other albums had several radio hits, and they ring true today as well. Great music released in the late 80's to early 90's, which some of will see the light of day again with a recent find of LP records of their first two albums, Idle Cure and Tough Love. If only the rest of their catalog would be as blessed as well to see the the light of day. Until then, they are available as downloads or retail areas where you can find classic Christian rock music. Enjoy and God bless!

Eric Sammons
October 2016

I did not realize it at the time but most of the Christian music I listened to in the 80's that were my favorite bands were on the front line record label. Years later I find Les Carlson from Bloodgood, one of my favorite bands, hosting a show that interviews members of all my other favorite bands. Frontline Rewind is a little bit of heaven here on earth. I first discovered Idle Cure in the Christian bookstore as a cassette. I listened to it on headphones in the store and as soon as I heard the song Breakaway I knew I had to buy that album. I still had to save my money for three weeks before I could go back to purchase it. But every week I went back to the store to listen to that song again before I bought the tape. Since then I have purchased every album Idle Cure released. I was thrilled to see Idle Cure was going to be on the podcast. The only thing that would make this even better than it is, is to have Idle Cure make some more music release some more albums. If Bloodgood can do it you can too. ;)

Randy Barr
October 2016

Years ago when I was in my 20's I had no real direction in my life and just dropped out of a Christian college because it was getting too expensive and my grades were horrible. Just a real low time in my life and one night I was invited to a concert in Ruch, Oregon. There was a big church there called Applegate Christian Fellowship. The band that was playing that night was Idle Cure, They shared the similar struggles I had. Long story short they had a great impact in my life.

Bill Munsell
October 2016

Idle Cure was classic 80's Anthem Rock. If I had to pick a favorite, it would probably be 2nd Avenue or Tough Love. At the time I was a metal head, so 2nd Avenue was my favorite with the hard rock edge to it. Great music and great lyrics. Truly helped me grow in my faith!

Nathan Chitwood
October 2016

Very powerful to hear the History of this group 12th Tribe and Testamonies!!!! God is Good! And it always makes an impact to in the lives of people when we testify about Gods goodness!...

Chuy Sabido
August 2016

Frontline records really has some jam-rocking bands, I like to listen to a lot of Christian metal any chance I get. I hope Christian metal stays around for a long time; a lot of kids should get into the Christian metal scene it is better than the regular metal, more of a positive groove.

Robert Perkins
August 2016

The music was great and I enjoyed it. The music was good quality and I liked the type of music it was. The lyrics were great.

Charis
July 2016

In the days when you head to wear the sweaty headphones that the guy in front of you just took off, listening in a Christian bookstore came with a risk. But it was worth it when I popped in "Scenic Route" by the Lost Dogs and heard Derri Daugherty's voice begin singing the title track. That album has shown that good music NEVER goes out of style and has stayed near and dear to me for decades now.

Bryan F.
July 2016

What a great sound so unique. This album on CD or white vinyl both sound great, the drums played hard, a voice like no other, great guitar and bass, great songwriting, a band you want to go see and hang out with

Phil Brecheen
July 2016

This album is really good. Angie Alan is an excellent singer and it makes me wish it was the 90's. Christian music was so good in that era.

Glenda Jones
July 2016

Frenetic, thrashing pumping and grinding. All readily applicable adjectives to describe the Altar Boys sound over their first releases, Altar Boys (1984) When You’re A Rebel (1985) Gut Level Music (1986) and Against The Grain (1987).
“Surfer punk rock” at its edgiest and yet lead vocalist Mike Stand, Jeff Crandall (drums), Steve Pannier (guitars), Mark Robertson (bass), and Ric Alba (bass) never compromised once on their faith which is why more melodic and thoughtful tracks always sat comfortably beside the rockers.

Building a reputation for high octane and high quality records on almost legendary live shows, the band faced huge expectations for Forever Mercy, which in point of fact would be their last collaborative studio project.

As a crescendo to such a kick-butt legacy, Forever Mercy is the ultimate encore, building on everything before and yet moving forward with a sound as contemporary today as it was back then. Altar Boys had garnered a sound and feel that was fresh and yet full of power and emotion and they did not compromise that same drive for this effort but somehow the overall feel is one of maturity as if they have graduated from high school to college with honours. There is a confidence here which suggests had there been more material after this release the sky was the limit. And yet the more polished production does not hide that raw energy.

This is an album surely created with the vision of live gig participation. Thumping drumbeats, grinding guitars, sing-a-long choruses and enough “shout” moments to make sure the world hears us, “Faith!!!!” anyone….

The first three tracks almost meld into one, which is by no means a bad thing as you don’t want each of them to end anyway. Three pumping rockers to get your pulse racing before the mood mellows out for the first of three ballads (well, ballads by Altar Boys standards), The Meaning of Life, Here Ends the Night and Silent Night. But it’s the very middle of the album which delivers not only the biggest stand out track but one that is as strong as anything the band has done before.
Ride This Train begins with a deceivingly distracting harmonica sounding all the world like an approaching train, well, duh! before the guitar crashes into the drums and we are hurtling along on a journey reminding us of the destination our faith promises us, “I was a boy of sixteen, fire in my eyes and filled with dreams I took my place upon that train, I wanted nothing more than to pull that chain, hear that whistle call my name” and yet despite the optimism and excitement there is a warning, “Rails of life divide this land, Get ready, 'cause it's leaving, yeah” The pulsating beat at its heart makes this a real Summer anthem so wind down the car window and crank up the volume.

There is an interesting subtext of hope in every Altar Boys song and a general feel of optimism in every beat even when the lyrics are darker than you might expect. Point of case is “Broken” from Against The Grain, probably one of the most honest and heartbreakingly real songs written by any band. So it is with “World Burning”. “I see the worries of the world turning, Turning and tearing from the outside in, I see the worries of the world burning, Burning in a fire that'll never end,” This aint the stuff of cute little fairy tales or “smile it will all be ok” kind of faith. This is hardcore in your face no compromise stuff. But there is an answer and Stands vocals scream at us to wake up and look to Jesus, “The time has come for worries to cease, The time has come for tears to end, The time has come; hold on to every ounce of faith...it's all we have.”

Here Ends The Night, Love Eternal and More Than Words are mid-tempo rockers performed with passion and grit playing beautifully into the overall feel and status of the album as a whole but it is the last track, Silent Night which provides the second stand out song (after Ride This Train) to complete things.

Not a cover of the classic Christmas carol (now wouldn’t that be cool to hear) but nevertheless kinda their own take on the nativity story, complete with angelic voices, “Riding by the light of an unknown star, in the night full of heaven's hope, hearing the news of angels, the humble make their way coming to town to look for the King” and as the beat builds we are reminded of the reason for our faith, the message of this album, Mercy Forever, Forever Mercy, “Silent hearts, silent night, all creation waits for this moment, Now the kingdom comes to a world crying out”

Tim
July 2016

Nicole C. Mullen is a great singer. Her heart for gospel music is so strong. You can really feel the presence of the Holy spirit in her music. Her songs are awesome.

Daniel
July 2016

Frontline Records: best.samplers.ever

One thing I have equated Frontline Records with is that not only did they house some of the best new artists of the last half of the 80's - their music sampler discs held nothing back. If the amount of storage on the cd was 80 minutes, you got a sampler disc of pretty much 80 minutes of all of their artists' current releases and really done well! Jam-packed (but also in a playable order) awesome music. Of course, you can tell Frontline cared about quality as much as the message. Each artists' albums contained no 'filler' music - almost like listening to a 'greatest hits' package but it was the Artists' normal album release. Such great music from Mark Farner, Crumbacher, Idle Cure, Crystal Lewis, Bill Baumgart and the list goes on and on! Thanks for being there then and now!

Rick LaHaye
July 2016

I was raised on the musicians on Frontline. I guess you could say that the Frontline musicians were the soundtrack of life for me. I even got to see Daniel Amos in concert. WOW!!! Good tunes and good times from Frontline Records.

Joshua Myles
July 2016

I have listened to Christian music for 20 plus years and I would say that some of my favorites have come from Frontline records and they were some of the best that I had listened to.

Stephen lowmaster
July 2016

The Insyderz is the best Ska Band ever. Their music is so awesome. God gave them a gift to make music and they are really blessed. Hope they never quit with that. Not many bands can compare to them.

Daniel
July 2016

Choosing one is almost impossible. Frontline alumni, Sacred Warrior, is my favorite,100s concerts, all albums worn out, excellent musicians who are Children of Light both on and off the stage, whose music has been a part of my life.

Regina Jorgenson
July 2016

I admit it. I was, and AM a music-aholic. They say the first step is admitting it. :D

It started with Myrrh records. Then... when I found that I liked a few bands from Frontline Records... I was doomed. I could not get enough albums from Frontline after that! It seemed, no matter the genre... the bands from that label always amazed me. I have a VERY large Frontline collection, to say the least.

Thank you Frontline of old, and new... for all that you have done for the Christian Music Scene.

JawnyG
July 2016

Hey Guys, I must say I have really enjoyed the Frontline Records Rewind podcast with Les Carlson. And speaking of Les, while I have never met him in-person, what a kind-hearted guy! It really comes across in the podcast. The interview that really sticks out to me is the Die Happy interview. Great music! And that singer has got some pipes! I also enjoyed the interview with Michael Bloodgood. (I have the Dangerously Close album and have listened quite a bit. Sounds phenomenal! Has that album been up for awards? Because if it hasn't it absolutely should.) I also enjoyed the interview with, I believe it was Sacred Warrior ... But I could be wrong. It was the podcast where a the testimony was given about about being on the road and angels helping them with replacing the tires ... Incredible. And then was also testimony of how things were coming down to the wire financially, and the Holy Spirit moved and the band ended up receiving $6,000, which is exactly wha! t they needed. God is good! And speaking of God, I would say He is greatly pleased with the show :) May God richly bless all you guys.

Matt (Zeph 3:17)
July 2016

At first I was pretty skeptical the opening track "Once more with Feeling" is a fluffy little tune, a bunch of musicians apparently looking ahead to the future and not finding signs to be favorable.

The rest of the CD is awesome! I especially liked the title track, "Tame the Volcano" with such awesome lyrics as "we in heap big trouble now....." Not the most politically correct thing, but an awesome sentiment.

Lava Rocks is another gem from this CD! Although there are vocals in it, it's primarily a instrumental, with Crumbacher's vocals soaring as one of the instruments.

The last standout track on the album is Somebody's arms, a song about falling in and out of love and eventually finding the right person. "And you know, sometimes, it's right, but just anytime's no good" could have been the the soundtrack to my love live as a young adult!!

All in all I love this album. Would love to find more from Crumbacher!

Peter Cooke
July 2016

I came to Jesus a few decades ago through the words and the Spirit flowing through Christian Rock Music. Since that time I have purchased many tapes and CDs on Frontline Records. Over the years some of my favorite bands have been Daniel Amos, Deliverance, Mad At The World and Bloodgood. The music and lyrics from Frontline Artists inspire me and get me going, especially since I listen to their music to begin the day working out at the gym early in the morning. Frontline Records has been the soundtrack to help me live life on the "frontline" at work and in every area of life. Thanks for the sound and the Spirit that flows through your music!!!

Gary Landon
July 2016

Bloodgood Detonation is my favorite Frontline LP. When I was a young teenager I discovered Bloodgood while looking thru records at the local Sound Shop. The guitars blew me away. As a fan of Iron Maiden I was amazed to find this kind of Christian Music. Although I wasn't saved yet it would eventually lead me to the Lord after my best friend took his own life. Detonation was truly one of the best Metal LPs of the 80s!

Carey Westbrook
July 2016

I remember waiting for the first Lost Dogs album for months. At the time I don't think we even knew what the band was called as I seem to remember looking for "Taylor, Eugene, Daugherty, & Roe". At the time I thought there would be amazing alternative genius. It turned out to be just genius. The blues, hymns, covers, folk, Americana, rock, pop. It was all there and with that album I was introduced to the 77s and a love for Daniel Amos that I had not yet had the chance to develop. Of course having the voice of the choir and the funky smooth Gene Eugene were icing on the cake and the two who drew me to the Dogs in the first place. If you don't know this album, you have to! Know it and love it!

Ron Easton
July 2016

Frontline Rewind is hands down my favorite podcast because it has brought back an age of music that I let through my fingertips too long ago.

Although I had a few favorite Frontline artists as a kid (Daniel Amos, Crumbacher, Common Bond) I didn't pay attention to the other styles outside of my taste (like heavy metal and rap).
But now that I've heard so many of those artists interviewed on the podcast it has made me want to go back and check out their work.

So thank you, Frontline, for keeping this legacy music alive and reminding me what I shouldn't have passed up back in the day!! Keep those interviews coming!

Tony Higgins
July 2016

I was a searching Christian in the mid to late 80s. Having been raised on Southern Gospel, the day I discovered CCM, specifically rock/metal, my world was turned upside-down. Or rather, rightside-up. During those uncertain years of Jr. High and High School, daily I found solace and refuge in the music of the bands represented on Frontline Records. Sacred Warrior and Deliverance were the first to grace my tape player (yes, I'm old) followed soon after by Bloodgood, Idle Cure, Recon and Ken Tamplin/Shout. The 80s decade would not end before I would experience my ears bleeding while listening to Vengeance (Rising). MATW was a regular in my CD player (I eventually got with the times) while at college in the early 90s. There were different things I loved about each of these bands but the common theme throughout was the love of Jesus. THAT is what this kid needed to hear during those dark and confusing days of school and I thank God they didn't pursue worldly fame ! and treasure so that I and many others could listen to quality and thought-provoking music.

Steve Howell
July 2016

I remember in the late 90s I discovered Deliverance. I fell in love with the band. Their first two CDs are headbanger classics! They also played Weapons of Warfare on [MTV's] Headbangers Ball back in the day! That was awesome!

Spiker
July 2016

DA's album, Fearful Symmetry, is a release of diverse proportions. It features Terry Taylor's quirky baritone and musical genius throughout.

Much of the album has an ethereally beautiful quality to it, which the songwriters for the band excel at.

I honestly think this is a "must have" in one's library.

Jim
July 2016

I have always been a fan of the various L.S.U. albums. Sometimes L.S.U. sometimes L.S. Underground, or simply Lifesavers Underground. I remember I would always go in and buy each and every version of the band and each album back in the day from the Christian Bookstore. However I hadn't heard of Grace Shaker until I heard the Michael Knott interviews on Frontline Records Rewind. I acutally found this cd this summer at a used music store and snapped it up as fast as I could. The album from start to finish has that classic L.S.U. sound but the topics seem to be a bit stronger and in some cases a bit darker. For example Double takes you on a journey about a guy who on Saturday night is in a bar and gets drunk and just messes things up and ends up messing up a pool players shot so with the last of his money he offers to buy the guy a drink. Sunday comes and he is hung over and it is time to go to church. Sadly this take on Christianity in America is all too com! mon and it is nice to see a band point out, in a dark yet almost comical way, the hypocricy that exists in the Church today. The album goes through all kinds of topics such as grace, Blame etc as it tells of the Christian journey but the album ends on a very fitting note. Christ Saves is a reminder that NO MATTER what You have done or how hypocritical your Christian life maybe Christ does and can really FOR REAL save people and bring them into a REAL personal relationship with him. I recently talked with a musician who is really embarresed by Christianty due to these type of Things that Americans call being Christian when in reality it isn't at all. L.S.U. does a good job in this album of a dark satire pointing out the very same things. I could be wrong but In My Opinion this is Michael Knott trying to wake us up and get us to a real relationship with the only way, truth and life.

Larry Versaw
July 2016

I remember when PID came out what a difference they made in life of one girl in our youth group. She was very happy when I gave her my copy.

Doug Zeliff
July 2016

Great memories from all the Frontline artist. Some truly great music.

Bill Collins
July 2016

I have great memories of opening my Frontline cassettes and reading Pastor Bob's little blurb. My first album was probably Deliverance. So many great bands and albums!

Chuck Knight
July 2016

It's hard to believe this is 30 years old this year. The fourth and final volume of the Alarma Chronicles continues many of the themes, including references to William Blake, but yet again changes musically, as each of its preceding volumes did. The album is wonderful from front to back, dreamlike at points, and ends with one of the band's best closers, The Beautiful One.

David Darrow
July 2016

Living outside the box is where you will always find brilliant tunesmiths Mad At The World yet their album Boomerang cuts issues like none before it.

Hank David
July 2016

There are not many Christian Reggae Bands, but one of those Bands is Christafari. I hear their music for about 8 years now. This music is so awesome. I feel the holy spirit every time, i listen to this music. Have not often heard such a good music! Good Job.

Daniel
July 2016

This album was the best of the best albums by Crumbacher. Most of their songs relied heavily on Christian dance/pop melodies, inc. "Speechless," which was the only song ever to feature all acoustic instruments, which was one of my favorites. Three of my favorite songs that made it to CCM radio, which included that ("Speechless"), were "Waiting For You," the song that Stephen is singing about being patient for the right love to approach you, for Jesus, followed by the uptempo "Rainy Season," which (in itself) describes the rain that is a blessing when it waters crops to grow food. This promise is given to the nation and land of Israel. A great song by the group! :)

Gary Richard Collins II
July 2016

Having gotten out of high school recently, I was in the midst of casting off childish things and moving from heavy metal, with its cheap theatrics and simplistic guitar-centric chord structures, to more sophisticated multi-instrumental sounds of the alternative rock movement. Not long afterwards, Mortal arrived on the CCM scene and set it, literally, on its ear. The first time I heard them was on Pittsburgh's own Word FM (101.5) during the 4 hours on Saturday evening they allowed Satan free-reign over their power of the air. Naturally, I am referring to the Christian Rock show! (The host now does traffic reports from a helicopter. He should have negotiated for better before he signed Old Scratch's contract.) I was immediately mesmerized by the creativity and thoughtfulness of the song presented below: "Enfleshed: the Word is Alive", (and the follow-up single "Mytho-X") which really appealed to my inner subversive rapscallion. It sounded so utterly ungodly, yet it decidedly wasn't. I was completely hooked.

The "band" was really just two Filipino guys, Jyro Xhan and Jerome Fontamillas, along with whatever session musician/friends they could summon in rotation, as the alt rock Christian music community was a small and tight-knit family, with musicians appearing in each other bands being de rigueur. However, the whole was clearly greater than the sum of its parts in this case, especially when under the auspices of producer/musician Terry Scott Taylor, an iconoclast genius in his own right. Christian metal had terrorized rural middle America for about a decade, and now was becoming passé. Mortal's debut, Lusis, came along at the perfect moment and injected an adrenaline shot of danger into the trite CCM scene. They were not making standard heavy metal, they were taking that form and adding in the slightly dissonant, somewhat strident, compressed and distorted howling vocals mixed with hard electronica, bombastic beats and provocative lyrics approach that had been brewed in the cauldrons of pioneering wizard – like musicians in the anything-goes creative environs of Germany and the UK back in the 1970s – industrial music. It was a radical new sound for CCM, to say the least, but it resulted in an actual overnight sensation. CCM magazine has since said that while Mortal's influence on the Christian rock landscape was considerable, opening the doors for numerous bands to follow, they also have had influence on mainstream industrial music as well. (Musicians are less concerned with dividing music by classifications than the record industry is, after all, so this should come as little surprise.)

Admittedly, Mortal were probably more pop savvy and danceable than many of the original industrial pioneers were, and they themselves preferred that their sound be called "hyper-soul", but they still were pretty extreme for an artifact of Christian culture. I met Jyro after the single anomalous concert they put on here in Pittsburgh at the now defunct Metropol in the strip, a concert for which the Christian promoter lost money but had no regrets, as he later admitted on local CTV produced program "His Place". I had to drag a co-worker to go with me as my friends were not fans, (yet, that changed) and it was quite something. I told him that his lyrics were "brilliant!", and that made him smile from ear to ear. He was a nice guy, having only recently been a humble pharmacist. Jerome, who I didn't meet, went on to attain fame in the band Switchfoot.

Matthew Mesina
July 2016

You Guys Rock!!! From Rap to Rock, my family and I have enjoyed the music that Frontline Records has put out. I saw Bloodgood in concert some years back and Tim Miner was in my small town here in Texas. We own many of the recordings you "cranked" out. Keep the great tunes turning!!!

Deborah Elaine
July 2016

I love following the Frontline site. Being a Bloodgood fan of the 80s, I've enjoyed Leslie Carlsen's interviews with Michael Bloodgood and many others. I didn't know Sacred Warrior had new music out until I began following Frontline Records. Keep up the good work. Many of us appreciate the Christian rock/metal of the good old days that just doesn't seem to exist in today's market.

Christina
July 2016

I have loved following the Frontline Records FB site since discovering it several months ago. Sacred Warrior and Deliverance were, and still are, two of my favorite bands. I'm encouraged that several bands like them have reunited to tour or to produce new music. Continue keeping us entertained wirh the memories, news, and updates.

Keith
July 2016

Crumbächer made good music, but the 1990 collaboration album as Crumbächer-Duke, entitled "Worlds Away," is my favorite Crumbächer release of all, and a 5-star album in my estimation. I've listened to it on a regular basis over the past 26 years, and plan to continue doing that! It's creative and musically tight.

Jamal Williams
July 2016

I remember when a friend introduced me to Rage Against the Machine. The rapcore sound blew me away, but man, I wasn't sure about their politics or some of their choice words. I wished so badly that there was a (good) Christian band in this genre. After looking around a little, I just gave up. But then I came upon Sodom and America by XL & DBD. Now THAT is what I'm talking about! From the first few chords of Brother to the Saboteur all the way through to Afrocka, this album is flat-out the best rapcore album ever (Christian or not). The guitars are hot throughout, the vocals are tough, and the message is on point. I still play this album full-volume in the car to this day. It doesn't hurt that XL is an awesome dude, and he's still making great music!

Justin Sentz
July 2016

The first Frontline album I ever bought was Darn Floor - Big Bite by Daniel Amos. The band was going by the name "da" at the time. And the music couldn't be more different from what I was used to listening to! It opened my ears to a whole other realm of musical exploration, full of spiritual meaning and philosophical depth, couched in a real poetic sensibility. It changed the way I listened to music, and made me a Daniel Amos fan for life!

Nicholas Greco
July 2016

From the first moment [I hear the band Bloodgood], I fell in love with them and their music. This is music for hard rock/heavy metal freaks and I can recommend this band everyone who is searching for good music that rocks and also has a good message.

Daniel
July 2016

My favorite Frontline record would have to be 'The Chosen Ones' by PID. They were always staying current without ever chasing trends. Their voice as a group was developed and distinct enough to always shine through the various changes in style or production. Intricate rhyme schemes, nimble flows, a great sense of humor were hallmarks of all their records. But The Chosen Ones was the most focused and dope.

Colin Shearn
July 2016

Recently I listened to Frontline Records Rewind Episode: 60 with Les Carlsen interviewing Michael Bloodgood. What a fun interview. I really enjoyed the stories on how they came together as a band and some of their experiences on the road. Loved to hear from these two Christian Rock heroes.

Wayne Hanley
July 2016

This sadly overlooked gem is a wonderful fusion of poetic lyrics, memorable melodies, and top-notch musicianship. It's the sort of album which doesn't necessarily hammer you with pop hooks on the first listen but which repays repeated listening with unlocking ever more layers of its lyrical and melodic texture. It is great to have it available again!

Alex Klages
July 2016

Crumbacher Duke at my youth group, Rick Elias at youth camp, Mad At The World Self Titled and Flowers In The Rain - borrowed from a friend and played on cassette til they wouldn't run anymore, Sacred Warrior - you mean Queensryche?, Mortification - scare your parents and worship Jesus... I could go on for days about my history with Frontline Records.
I was so glad to see the Frontline Rewind Podcast so myself and my friends could walk down memory lane. These albums were not only for enjoyment, but I also managed the music department for 2 years at a local Christian Book Store - so I was always eager to see what was coming down the pike from Frontline - not only for personal consumption, but also to recommend to others (and play over the store intercom and trip people out).

Thank you for being cutting edge in the industry. Thank you for being accessible to the masses - Thank you for carrying on all these years!

Adam Colvin
July 2016

All the interviews on frontline rewind have been awesome. I think the one that sticks out the most was the Bloodgood reunion. Les does a phenomenal job at interviewing people. But the group I would like to hear on Frontline rewind is IDLE CURE. I had all the Frontline albums they put out. 2nd Ave was my favorite album and Breakaway was a great hard rock tune.

Bill Munsell
July 2016

I was blessed to be the head of the music department at our local Christian book store while I was in high school. The years were 1986-1989, so that was in the beginnings of Frontline Records. I was blessed to get "insider" information about upcoming artists and was able to get most of the albums. I still own many on vinyl, cassette and cd. I am now a pastor and the artists on frontline records played a huge part in my spiritual walk as a teen and still do today. I will never forget my great anticipation for Vengeance and Sacred Warriors debut albums, and the amazing P.I.D. It continued with Deliverance, Angelica and years later with Poor Old Lu. Those are just my personal favorites. I truly thank the Lord for Frontline Records!

Nathan Chitwood
July 2016

I really enjoy the show. Great for Friday afternoon at work! Like it better with Les Carlson as host. Only thing I would change would be to have it more than once a month! Thanks!

Chris ONeal
July 2016

It was 1991 when Jesus found me. Being a lonely outcast kid, music was my life. I remember feeling saddened and scared at how the Lord would make me "feel weird" when I listened to my favorite bands (Metallica, KISS, Megadeth, DIO, etc.). These feelings made me awkwardly venture into my local Christian store to see if they had and "good Christian music, like heavy metal". They sheepishly referred me to the demo area, where cassettes covered an entire wall. I studied the wall for the best artwork, which of course is how you judge an album, I was looking for something that said "METAL" in the coolest, most genuine way possible. It hit me like a truck... "BLOODGOOD". WOW! Man that sounds cool! I took "The Collection" off of the wall, plugged it into the demo cassette player, and for the next half hour I was completely blown away. This is Christian music?! WHAT?! Here was passion, searing guitar work, deep lyr! ics, the best metal voice ever (thanks, Les), and above all a very apparent love for Jesus... Just like I had! I was hooked.

25 years later and Bloodgood's "The Collection" remains my favorite metal album of all time. From "Anguish and Pain" to "Black "Snake", this greatest hits array is an classic metal treasure spanning faith and relevance. Fast tempo tracks like "Battle of the Flesh" and "Out of the Darkness" in particular deliver a furious romp while mid tempo gems such as "Killing the Beast", "Eat the Flesh", and "Alone in Suicide" are deep and brooding, ripe with hooks that get stuck in your head for a lifetime. In my opinion, it is the somewhat softer side of this album which remains the most engaging. "What's Following the Grave", "The Presence", "Never be the Same", and worship love song "Top of the Mountain" are sincere and e! xpressive, excellent examples of allowing space for the listen! er settle into the music and leave them wanting to come back for more. If you are a Bloodgood fan as I am, chances are pretty good that it was the definitive masterpiece set of "Crucify" and "The Messiah" that sealed the deal. This is storytelling at its best... theatrical and moving, these songs make you "see" what you are hearing. This dynamic musical duo takes you on a first person journey from Pilate's dilemma, through the horror of the cross, and culminating with the glorious resurrection! If musical storytelling gets any better than this, I have yet to find it! Bloodgood's "The Collection" is the a must have for any metal head, a diverse, well crafted, saturated epic that continues to stand the test of time.

Chad Koons
July 2016

Daniel Amos in all their incarnations have had a long and varied history. Their musical paths have been ambitious, brilliant, strange, quirky, sometimes a misstep, but always interesting. However, with 1986's William Blake-inspired Fearful Symmetry they managed to corral their sound tighter and produce what is not quite a concept album but a coherent one. From beginning to end it's a beautiful adventure, full of haunting atmosphere with punchy danceable moments that transform into subtle and sublime beauty, making it an Alternative music classic.

Gafataitua 'Nafa' Fa'alogo
July 2016

Sacred Warrior's "Master's Command" stands among the greatest metal records of all time. The guitar solos of Bruce Swift paired with the top-shelf vocals of Rey Parra form a collective pleading, a plaintive yet decisive invitation to consider the Gospel. This is most evident in the closing measures of "Evil Lurks". Sacred Warrior answers two questions with a resounding YES on this record..."Can a Christian Metal band be as legit as a secular band", and "Can Metal music have an invitational tone while staying true to the style?" The answer to both questions is an emphatic YES. This band stands up with Dio, Queensryche, and others, providing REAL Metal for saved people who love the style. 5 stars.

Roscoe Morgan
July 2016

The fourth and best album from the classic lineup, Tame The Volcano contains some of the band's most interesting songs. "Reckless Boys & Bad, Bad Girls" is a rocker that describes some kids on the fringes, but for very different reasons. The title track uses jungle beats and gang vocals to poke fun and gossip and mob mentality. It segues directly into "Lava Rock", an irresistible instrumental that grooves up to a thunderstorm climax blending into "Rainy Season." Bracketed by different renditions of "...Once More", this album is still very much worth a listen. Or ten.

Robert Hollinger
July 2016

Sacred Warrior - Master's Command was one of the first Christian albums I got. Holy, Holy, Holy helped me embrace worship.

Noods Newell
July 2016

Frontline Rewind is amazing! It's been so much fun listening to these pioneer Christian artists tell their stories and the video clips are such a treat!

TK
July 2016